The main goals of the group are to build and foster a network of LA investigators in oncology; to develop, conduct and coordinate academic studies (e.g. epidemiologic and POC studies) and clinical trials in the region; to cooperate with other international academic institutions and networks, groups and the pharmaceutical/biotechnology industry facilitating the conduct of clinical research.


The Latin American Cooperative Oncology Group (LACOG - former GLICO) is a non-profit organization founded in 2008 by a group of Latin American medical oncologists interested in the development of clinical research. This is the first multinational cooperative group in Latin America exclusively dedicated to clinical and translational research in cancer. The group has 147 investigator members from 70 institutions from Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, México, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Venezuela and Uruguay. The LACOG Coordinating Office, located in Porto Alegre, Brazil, has the facilities to assist investigators with their study concept, protocol development and management, monitoring, data management, pharmacovigilance and statistical analysis. The group also develops educational courses in clinical research and promotes the annual Latin American Oncology Conference that focuses on the sharing of the latest information about clinical trial development.



Executive Committee

Carlos Barrios

Carlos BarriosHSL PUCRS - Porto Alegre - Brazil

Executive Director of the LACOG. Professor at the Department of Internal Medicine at the PUCRS School of Medicine. Director of the Center for Research in Oncology at the São Lucas Hospital. Director of the Cancer Institute of Hospital Mãe de Deus in Porto Alegre. Former Clinical Fellow in Medical Oncology and Hematology, Barnes and Jewish Hospitals, Washington University School of Medicine. Adjunct Professor of the University of Miami School of Medicine.

Carlos Gil

Carlos GilInstituto Nacional de Câncer (INCA) - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Coordinator of Clinical Research and member of the Thoracic Oncology Group of the National Institute of Cancer (INCA). Director of Education and Research of the COI Institute and Coordinator of the Center of Thoracic Oncology of the COI. Doctor in Molecular Biology and Experimental Oncology, Free University of Amsterdam.

Fernando Maluf

Fernando MalufHospital São José - São Paulo - Brazil

Chief of Medical Oncology of the Oncology Center at the São José Hospital. Former member of the Oncology Center and Coordinator of the Residency Program of Medical Oncology at the Sírio-Libanês Hospital. Doctor of Urology, University of São Paulo School of Medicine. Former Clinical Fellow of Medical Oncology, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

Gilberto Lopes

Gilberto LopesHCor e Centro Paulista de Oncologia - São Paulo - Brazil

A medical oncologist at Centro Paulista de Oncologia, heads HCor Onco, the cancer center for Hospital do Coração, and leads the medical and scientific council for the Oncoclinicas group. He was previously Senior Consultant Medical Oncologist, Program Leader for Health Economics and Outcomes Research and Assistant Director for Clinical Research at the Johns Hopkins Singapore International Medical Centre from 2006 to 2013; He holds concomitant positions as Assistant Professor of Oncology at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland, as well as teaching faculty at the Perdana Graduate School of Medicine in Serdang, Malaysia.

Guillermo Lerzo

Guillermo LerzoCentro de Investigación Clínica Ciudad de Buenos Aires - Buenos Aires - Argentina

Chief of inpatient unit at Hospital Municipal Marie Curie, Argentina. He is also a member of GAICO, Argentina.

Gustavo Werutsky

Gustavo WerutskyLACOG Chair

Chair of the Latin American Cooperative Oncology Group (LACOG), Porto Alegre, Brazil. Preceptor of the Department of Medical Oncology at Hospital São Lucas PUCRS University. Former medical research fellow of the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), Brussels, Belgium. Former fellow of the Flims workshop on cancer research and of the ESMO translational research unit visit. He is member of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO).

Henry Gomez

Henry GomezInstituto Nacional de Enfermedades Neoplásicas (INEN) - Lima - Peru

Chair of the LACOG Breast Cancer Group. Director of Medicine of the Instituto Nacional de Enfermedades Neoplasicas (INEN),Peru.

Luis Fein

Luis FeinCentro Oncológico de Rosario - Santa Fé - Argentina

Director of clinical research at Instituto de Oncologia de Rosario, Argentina and Professor of Internal Medicine at Universidad Nacional de Rosario. He is also member of GAICO Board, Argentina.

Advisory Board

The Board is the steering and executive body which advises the General Assembly on new activities and formulates proposals to be ratified by the General Assembly.

    • Denis Lacombe
    • EORTC
    • Brussels
    • Belgium
    • Diane Finkelstein
    • MGH
    • Boston
    • US
    • Max Mano
    • ICESP
    • São Paulo
    • Brazil
    • Paul Goss
    • MGH
    • Boston
    • US


LACOG Regulations

Download .pdf | 546.90 KB


Coordinating Office will be closed on the following days:

24 and 25.Feb.2020- National Holiday
26.Feb.2020 - Part-time closed - National Holiday
10.Apr.2020 - National Holiday
20 and 21.Apr.2020 - National Holiday
01.May.2020 - National Holiday
11 to 12.Jun.2020 - National Holiday
07.Sep.2020 - National Holiday
12.Oct.2020 - National Holiday
02.Nov.2020 - National Holiday
24 to 25.dec.2020 - Christmas break
30.dec to 01.jan.2020 - New Year break